Description of Cyberwatch compliance repositories

This documentation provides a description of repositories available by default in Cyberwatch.

CERTFR_AD

CERTFR_AD is an implementation of the Active Directory hardening guide developed and maintained by the ANSSI. Cyberwatch provides this repository by default for the compliance analysis of Active Directory assets according to ANSSI’s rules.

CIS_Benchmark

The CIS (Center for Internet Security) is a recognized IT security entity. It is responsible for developing and maintaining the CIS Controls® and CIS Benchmarks™ guides, globally recognized best practices for securing IT systems and data.

These best practices are gathered in guides published and split by operating systems. A set of technical information and scripts are developed by the CIS, allowing to check assets’ compliance towards rules published in the CIS Benchmark.

Cyberwatch uses and implements these scripts in some of its default repositories.

The CIS_Benchmark repository present by default in Cyberwatch, contains all CIS Benchmark rules implemented in Cyberwatch. It gathers a set of rules applicable to different operating systems (Windows and Linux).

CIS_Benchmark_level_1

This repository gathers all level 1 CIS Benchmark rules, level being defined by the CIS.

From the CIS website:

“The Level 1 profile is considered a base recommendation that can be implemented fairly promptly and is designed to not have an extensive performance impact. The intent of the Level 1 profile benchmark is to lower the attack surface of your organization while keeping machines usable and not hindering business functionality.”

CIS_Benchmark_level_2

This repository gathers all level 2 CIS Benchmark rules, level being defined by the CIS.

From the CIS website:

“The Level 2 profile is considered to be “defense in depth” and is intended for environments where security is paramount. The recommendations associated with the Level 2 profile can have an adverse effect on your organization if not implemented appropriately or without due care.”

CIS_Docker_Benchmark

This repository gathers best practices of secure configuration guidelines for the Docker application. It is also published by the CIS.

CIS_Microsoft_Intune_Benchmark

This repository gathers best practices of secure configuration guidelines for the Microsoft Intune application for Windows 10 et 11. The benchmarks also published by the CIS.

ICS_Best_Practices

This repository regroups a set of best practices rules generally applied to industrial systems (ICS = Industrial Control Systems).

This rules are mostly adapted from the CIS Benchmark, with some of them requiring a specific adaptation to the context of industrial systems security.

Security_Best_Practices

Repository of rules acting as a best practices guide that can be reasonably applied on the majority of information systems.

The main goal is to provide a starting guide allowing to establish a first overview of the IT infrastructure, using rules both comprehensive on a technical aspect as well as providing relevant configuration from a security standpoint.

Cyberwatch recommends using this repository as a starting point and an introduction to a deeper exploitation of the compliance module.

Description des référentiels de conformité Cyberwatch

Cette documentation apporte un descriptif des référentiels proposés nativement dans Cyberwatch.

CERTFR_AD

Le CERTFR_AD est une implémentation d’une partie du guide de durcissement des annuaires Active Directory élaboré et maintenu par l’ANSSI. Cyberwatch propose par défaut ce référentiel pour l’analyse de conformité des actifs Active Directory conformément aux règles de l’ANSSI.

CIS_Benchmark

Le CIS (Center for Internet Security) est une entité Américaine de référence dans le domaine de la sécurité informatique. Elle est responsable du développement et de la maintenance du CIS Controls® et du CIS Benchmarks™, guides de bonnes pratiques de sécurité mondialement reconnus, visant à protéger et sécuriser les systèmes d’information et leurs données.

Ces bonnes pratiques sont regroupées dans des guides publiés par système d’exploitation. Un ensemble d’éléments techniques ainsi que des scripts sont développés par le CIS, permettant de vérifier la conformité et/ou de se conformer aux règles publiées dans le CIS Benchmark.

Cyberwatch utilise et implémente ces scripts de sorte à les proposer dans ses référentiels par défaut.

Le référentiel « CIS_Benchmark » présent dans l’application contient l’ensemble des règles du CIS Benchmark implémentées dans Cyberwatch. Il regroupe un ensemble de règles applicables à différents systèmes d’exploitation (Windows/Linux).

CIS_Benchmark_level_1

Ce référentiel regroupe l’ensemble des règles du CIS Benchmark de niveau 1, comme défini par le CIS.

Traduit depuis l’anglais du site web du CIS:

« Le niveau 1 est considéré comme une base de recommandations qui peuvent être implémentées assez rapidement et est conçu pour ne pas avoir un impact considérable sur les performances. L’objectif du Benchmark de niveau 1 est de réduire la surface d’attaque de votre organisation tout en gardant les actifs utilisables sans entraver les fonctionnalités métiers. »

CIS_Benchmark_level_2

Ce référentiel regroupe l’ensemble des règles du CIS Benchmark de niveau 2, comme défini par le CIS.

Traduit depuis l’anglais du site web du CIS:

« Le Niveau 2 est considéré comme de la « défense en profondeur » et est destiné aux environnements où la sécurité est primordiale. Les recommandations associées au Niveau 2 peuvent avoir un effet négatif sur votre organisation si elles ne sont pas mises en oeuvre de manière appropriée ou sans la considération nécessaire. »

CIS_Docker_Benchmark

Ce référentiel regroupe les bonnes pratiques permettant une configuration sécurisée de l’application Docker. Ce guide est également publié par le CIS.

CIS_Microsoft_Intune_Benchmark

Ce référentiel regroupe les bonnes pratiques permettant une configuration sécurisée de l’application Microsoft Intune pour Windows 10 et 11. Ces guides sont également publiés par le CIS.

ICS_Best_Practices

Ce référentiel regroupe un ensemble de règles de bonnes pratiques généralement appliquées à des systèmes industriels (ICS = Industrial Control Systems).

Ces règles sont majoritairement issues du CIS Benchmark, avec pour certaines d’entre elles une adaptation spécifique au contexte de la sécurité des systèmes industriels.

Security_Best_Practices

Référentiel de règles constituant un ensemble de bonnes pratiques qu’il est raisonnable de mettre en place sur la majorité des systèmes d’information.

L’objectif est de fournir un guide de démarrage permettant de faire un état des lieux du parc informatique, à l’aide de règle à la fois facilement compréhensibles d’un point de vue technique et apportant des améliorations non négligeables du point de vue sécurité.

Cyberwatch recommande l’utilisation de ce référentiel comme un guide de démarrage et une introduction à l’exploitation d’un panel plus large que couvre le module de gestion des Conformités.